A mathematician, polytechnicien (class of 1966) and Doctor (University of Paris VII, 1974), he was affiliated to the CNRS from 1969 to 2013. A professor at the École polytechnique from 1986 to 2012, he headed the IHES (Institut des hautes études scientifiques) from 1994 to 2013. He has chaired the Société Mathématique de France (1990-1992), the European Mathematical Society (1995-1998) and the European Research Council (ERC) (2014-2019, then July 2020-August 2021).

A participé à la séance suivante

How to make a unique research institution thrive

October 10, 2023 | Seminar Creation | Session report

Google Analytics cookies
This site uses cookies from Google Analytics, these cookies help us to identify the content that interests you the most and to identify certain malfunctions. Your navigational data on this site is sent to Google Inc.